In preparation for the Assignment 1

In preparation for the Assignment 1, I have selected My old photos (please open this .pdf) and have prepared the following pairs of contrasts:

High/Low,

Broad/Narrow,

Straight/Curved,

Many/Few,

Light/Dark,

Rough/Calm.

This process has helped me a lot to concentrate on the essence of the project, brought me ideas about the images I want to create and even indicated some possible locations for the photos I needed for the Assignment 1. I don’t usually take abstact photos so this Assignment will be a challenge to go beyond my limits.

I am thinking a lot about how to present a more uniform/matching appearance at least for every pair. Additionally I am considering the possibility of similar frames (vertical or horizontal) for every pair. This is part of my own aesthetics and I want to be genuine in this. I know this is going to make it every harder but at least I will try it.

It has been very helpful for me to read the following article in the website of Michael Freeman: http://thefreemanview.com/techniques/composition-by-contrast/

When I first read Assignment 1, I thought that it was quite easy but I have soon realized that it wasn’t. So far one of the most difficult pairs for me is black/white. I have been experimenting and I am taking photos both indoors and outdoors. I have discovered that it is easier for me to take a few pictures of a specific pair of contrasts, make notes and after that import the photos, select and file the rest.

Since english is not my first language I have started from the basic and I have looked up the word contrast in the dictionary:

contrast definition

After this I have started preparing some mind maps for the pairs I thought were interesting and challenging:

Rough & Smooth mind map

smooth & rough mind map

Pointed & Blund mind map

pointed & blunt mind map

Diagonal & Rounded mind map

diagonal-rounded

Black & White mind map

black:white

 

 

Some of the photos I have rejected for Assignment 1:

Curved

ASSIGNMENT NO.1-1-2

Diagonal

ASSIGNMENT NO.1-1-3    ASSIGNMENT NO.1-5

Black

ASSIGNMENT NO.1-1-4

White

ASSIGNMENT NO.1-1   ASSIGNMENT NO.1-2-3

Sweet

ASSIGNMENT NO.1-2-2

 

Light

ASSIGNMENT NO.1-2   ASSIGNMENT NO.1-3

Curved

ASSIGNMENT NO.1-4

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

