Tutor feedback on Assignment 1

A few days after having submitted my assignment 1, I have received my tutor’s feedback.

Grivopoulou Theodora assign 1 (please open the .doc file to view it).

My overall impression was that the comments were positive and encouraging. I was happy after I have read the whole report. I may have been more enthusiastic about my work than my tutor.  It can be because I rarely order prints for my work and this time I loved the outcome of my project.

My tutor started her report saying “You have approached the work logically“. Does it mean that I didn’t use my creative skills? It can be. I don’t know why but I have learned this sentence by heart.

“Your research into a number of artists proved to be a very useful visual exploration and your work was influenced by some of the artists you looked at. Continue to work in this way, looking at an artists body of work so you really get a feel about their style and approach. (…)

Excellent to see such large prints submitted at this early stage, continue to develop this as an outcome for your workflow especially as your goal is to submit photographs for exhibition.”

Pair Black/White:

Nice details explored here in this interpretation. In the white image there is so much texture and light and shadows. The bottom of the image is quite heavy in comparison to the delicate nature of the main image content. The addition of the contrasting rope in the image not only created a change in visual direction but also the change in contrast.

I find the comments pleasing and close to my ideas as far as composition and interpretation is concerned.

About pair BLACK/WHITE tutor made the following remarks:
BLACK  WHITE

Nice details explored here in this interpretation. In the white image there is so much texture and light and shadows. The bottom of the image is quite heavy in comparison to the delicate nature of the main image content. The addition of the contrasting rope in the image not only created a change in visual direction but also the change in contrast.

I find the comments pleasing and close to my ideas as far as composition and interpretation is concerned. It has been quire reassuring for me to know that my mind maps lead me successfully to this result.

About the pair MANY/FEW tutor wrote:

MANY  FEW

“The topic is really interesting and I feel you could have made more of this with some different compositional choices. I feel I’m missing out on the real image”.

I feel that I must agree with her, I could have done better and so I have committed to try another approach for this pair.

Pair POINTED/BLUNT:

POINTED BLUNT

These interpretations are interesting and they are both challenging in the exposure with one being so white against the dark background and the other dark against a light background. It is interesting you chose eggs to represent blunt as it is not an obvious understanding. most people would describe them as curved, round, fragile, smooth. Continue to explore your compositional choices.

Happy to read that I have attempted a different approach for the blunt image. This is due to the fact that english is not my first language, so some words have varying connotations for me. I am pleased that my mind subconsciously has created contrast within a contrast in both images. I assume that the suggestion to “explore my compositional choices” although encouraging is not positive.  I guess that have to emphasize more on the compositional decisions I make.

Pair SMOOTH/ROUGH:

 SMOOTH  ROUGH

The rough image almost shows the contrast in one image, it is composed in an interesting manner. The smooth image is more difficult to read. (…)

I cannot but agree with tutor. I liked the rough image and I am pleased that tutor liked it too. The smooth concept was not very easy for me but this one seemed the best of all the others I have tried.

Pair LIQUID/SOLID:

LIQUID SOLID

The images are sharp and bold with good control of the point of focus. As a pair they look they should be together. They are interesting in that although you have indicated which way up they go they could have different orientations? These are presented as black and white prints, they do have rather a warm cast to them.

I am excited that this pair turned out to be interesting. I was generally contented with my print photos and it seems that tutor Sam liked them too.  Now that I see this pair once more I see that there is a curved line in both photos. The one is from the liquid water and the other one in from the glass  behind the ice cubes.

Pair LIGHT/DARK:

LIGHT DARK

This theme is always an interesting one to explore, as the addition of the lamp in the dark image can also indicate “light”! I do like the “light” image as it is interesting to view. The dark image is a little dark in the print compared to the online version. I would say as a pair they do compete with one another in the print color. This is something you will revisit during the course and as you become more controlling of your print outcome some of these images will be explored further.

I fully agree with the above comments. Light is indeed a tricky conception to photography. I was a bit disappointed with the print of the dark image. I remembered when I started learning to use a computer that a computer teacher told me “Be careful, what you see is what you get’. I do want to become more controlling of my print photos.

Pair STRAIGHT/CURVED:

STRAIGHT  CURVED

The images do have an energy which you have further emphasized by using the horizontal format. Good focus in these images, really directing the viewer. Nice compositional balance here.

Woow! I am truly satisfied with this comment. No further analysis is needed.

Paid DIAGONAL/ROUNDED:

DIAGONAL  ROUNDED

The images presented explore the there suitably. They indicate the titles in a bold manner. Take care in your exposures here as they both have areas of dark and light where some of the detail is lost? The prints are clean alt ought work on the depth of field/point of focus in the cup image.

I am not very sure if I agree with the above. I have been very careful to check the burnt areas in the histogram when I was taking the photos. But I want to try and shout again the rounded photo to see if I can have a better result based on the above comment.

Two contrast in one image:

CONTRAST IN ONE PICTURE

This is a very beautiful image and nicely seen. I like the determined point of focus being the sea egg and this is exposed so there is detail. I assume you have done some post production work on this image to bring up the main element? This does work but try to resist being too heavy handed in this.

I liked this image, too. I am happy that technically this is a good photo. Yes I have done some post production because my son’s T-shirt was blue with red letters and they were quite distracting. I have used a heavy vignette to hide the background and let the main subject predominate. I understand the point that tutor makes about digital manipulation and I will keep that in mind for my future work.

Learning logs or Blogs/Critical essays

The blog is logical and you have obviously invested much time in the development of the exercises and assignment. The reflective practice is useful, continue to work in this way. Do spend time reflecting on your work and also the work of other artists.

Time is a problem with the way I am living. I struggle to find time for everything. I have now discovered how important it is for me to stop for a while and write down my reflections on my work.

After analyzing this feedback, in order to write this post, I understand that it is a far more positive report that I thought. My conclusion is that the work I have done before the assignment has helped me to produce a nice presentation. I feel happy that my tutor is very supportive and easy to access.

Leave a Reply

