Exercise_Softening the light

 

Before starting the exercise, I was a little confused by the course matter. It seems that I need more practical explanations when technical matters are concerned, so I have searched in the internet and have found the following link very interesting

http://www.reframingphotography.com/content/manipulating-intensity-contrast-and-color-light

The video was very useful and I got an idea of how to create a cheap diffuser. The whole idea is use a diffuser in order to turn a hard light into a soft light.

The photos have been taken with my iphone camera. The two spot lights from my kitchen fan produce a harsh light. The background is disturbing.
photo 1-1

I have used a transparent packing plastic material with some tape and have lightly covered the spotlight. The photo below shows how the lights have been softened to create a more uniform background. The angle I have used is not the correct one but i think I have managed to understand the difference.

 

softern the light

 

 

The bare spotlight:photo 2-2

 

 

The covered spotlight:

securedownload

 

It is clear that the light is soften even in the way by used the cheapest material available.

Finally, I have also tracked down this link which I find very interesting and inspiring

http://www.wikihow.com/Diffuse-Light

 

Leave a Reply

