How my assignment photos were taken

The photo below was taken by using an inexpensive lightbox that I have created. Here are some step by step directions that I found useful:

http://www.wikihow.com/Create-an-Inexpensive-Photography-Lightbox

I have to admit that the size of the box I have used was a bit small for the object I have chosen to photograph, while it was more convenient for smaller object. But this is how it always is in the beginning. The uniform and seamless background is created with just a white poster board. What I don’t like in the photo is the bottom part of the object and the shades created. But I am pleased with the outcome since this is a big step for me.

Shape-1
Shape-1

The photo below was again taken using a kraft brown paper and a portable “under cabinet striplight” on the back of the paper. No frontal lights has been used in order to have a clear outline of my object. I love the warm orange light produced.

Shape-2
Shape-2

For the following photo natural afternoon light coming from a window has been used. I had to move my object and experiment to find the right lighting angle. I think that the 3 dimensional is apparent in this photo.

Form-3
Form-3

Again this photo was taken using only natural light. The sun will set in half an hour and was invading into my window. I had to move my object and find the right position in order to have the eyes look as if the are lit. This photo would have been better if I had used a tripod. I am not fond of using the tripod so I was unwilling to use it…

Form-4
Form-4

Again with the use of the lightbox I have created the following photo. What I love in this photo is the way the object is being transformed.

Texture-5
Texture-5

Another photo with natural light coming from my window and again here the object looks different. The light produces a warm color and the close up creates an authentic feeling in this photo.

Texture-6
Texture-6

For this photo I have placed a desktop lamp behind my object and I have soften its light with a tracing paper. I love the eyes and the warm red color created.

Colour-7
Colour-7

A big white paper was stuck with tape on my window to soften the light. The sun was strong and the shadows from my window frame are apparent but at the moment I found it interesting. I love this photo and I believe this is a successful one. The color variations of the wood are apparent and the background paper look like clouds and sky.

Colour-8
Colour-8

 

I know I can improve even more. I want to experiment with more materials and I have a long road to go but the road less travelled is always the most attractive!

Leave a Reply

