Exercise: Close and involved

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All the above images have been shot very close in order to achieve a sense of putting the viewer right inside the situation. People with special needs are taught how to create something with clay. This pottery workshop wanted to integrate children with special needs people into a common learning experience. I am overwhelmed by the emotions of these pictures.

I usually feel very comfortable working with a wide-angle lense but sometime I do feel that I invade. I always try not to be impolite.

Theodora Chorafas is a famous greek ceramist who has volunteered to offer this workshop. She was born in London, she studied ceramics, painting and History of Art, which she also taught in Greece and abroad. She now lives in Aegina and works with ceramics. She has organized one-man shows, taken part in group exhibitions, and received prizes for her work both in Greece and abroad.

Leave a comment